The long and winding road

My novel, “Someone She Always Has Known,” is now available for purchase at http://www.amazon.com/Someone-She-Always-Known-ebook/dp/B00CJYJ330/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1367275467&sr=1-1&keywords=someone+she+always+has+known

It’s about time.

I started writing the book around the beginning of the century and started sending it to agents and publishers about a decade ago.

Although no one agreed to represent me or publish the book, I did receive a couple positive rejection letters.

That’s not an oxymoron. As someone who has received a terse “not for us” written on her own query letter and a note from a publisher suggesting it was all a big nothing, I realize agents and publishers may pee on your leg, but not while telling you it’s raining.

So, I appreciated the agent who complimented my writing and the publisher who praised the book but said she couldn’t offer me a deal because her company was too small.

Still, I gave up.

Then, last year, a friend sent me a news story about Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) services. I don’t believe in fate, but I had also stumbled across two KDP success stories. Was the universe trying to tell me something?

After I researched KDP and e-publishing, I decided to take another look at “Someone She Always Has Known,” which I referred to as “that story about three friends in college.”

I hadn’t opened the file since 2005 and, as soon as I started reading, I realized the book needed work. In fact, I excised more than a quarter of the story, rewrote the beginning, the ending and parts in between, deleted minor characters and altered Tabitha’s personality.

It pained me to remove Chet’s X-rated ranch dressing story, Jodie’s involvement in petty larceny, and Eleanor’s public dance to “U Can’t Touch This.” But it needed to be done.

I considered sending the improved, more concise novel to agents and publishers, but decided to stick with my plan to publish on KDP.

I have no illusions of grandeur. I’m not fooling myself into believing I’ll become the next e-book success story that inspires other writers.

But I am glad “that story about three friends in college” is finally available for public consumption.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

